Journalist among Young Global Leaders

March 10, 2012 by  
Filed under newsletter-india

World Economic ForumNew Delhi, March 8, 2012: He joined the PMO two years ago as the first professional from Development Communication and Television.

The World Economic Forum has selected Binoy Job, a senior official at the Indian prime minister’s office, as one of its “Young Global Leaders” this year.

He is among 192 leaders from 59 countries, including 11 from India, the Geneva-based Forum on Tuesday honoured for their outstanding leadership, professional accomplishments and commitment to society.

It selected the achievers from various fields such as business, government, academia, NGOs, and art and culture from across the globe.

These young achievers engage in addressing specific challenges of public interest to help build a better future, says a press release from the forum.

Some earlier eminent recipients of the award included Larry Page of Google, Sidhartha Lal of Eicher group, Mark Zuckerberg of Facebook, and politicians Sachin Pilot, Deepinder Hooda and Jyotiradita Scindia.

Job, 37, is the director of Media and Communications to Prime Minister Manmohan Singh. He has been credited with using media for social change.

He joined the PMO two years ago as the first professional from Development Communication and Television. He set up there the first Media Production Centre to disseminate information through print, broadcast, and social media.

Job, a native of Kerala, studied journalism at Delhi University and “leadership and globalization” at the London School of Economics.

He said he felt humbled to be selected for an award meant for big achievers. “I think I am lucky to be in this forum of achievers and young leaders. I think I will get to learn a lot,” he said.

His “Development Channel” has more than 2,000 stories and claims to be the world’s largest development news portal. His youth leadership initiative – Leaders for Tomorrow — is among the largest leadership movements for social change.

Other Indian awardees this year are Subhashini Chandran, Vandana Goyal, Alok Kshirsagar, Adarsh Kumar, Sendhil Mullainathan, Ashwin Naik, Sanjiv Rai, Chhavi Rajawat, Rajamanohar Somasundaram, and V.R. Ferose.

– ucan

Enter Google AdSense Code Here

Comments are closed.